West Indies beat England to win World T20 2016: Stats of matches played over the years

first_imgCarlosBrathwaite clobbered four consecutive sixes off Ben Strokes’ bowling as West Indies liftedtheir second World Twenty20 title on April 3, 2016 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. Sixtournaments have so far been played and only the West Indies, who currentlyhold the title, has won the tournament on multiple occasions.Here are the previous years’ stats:YearHostFinal VenueWinnerResultRunner-up2007South AfricaWanderers Stadium,JohannesburgIndiaIndia won by 5 runsPakistan2009EnglandLord’s Cricket Ground,LondonPakistanPakistan won by 8 wicketsSri Lanka2010West IndiesKensington Oval,Bridgetown, BarbadosEnglandEngland won by 7 wicketsAustralia2012Sri LankaR Premadasa Stadium,ColomboWest IndiesWest Indies won by 36 runsSri Lanka2014BangladeshSher-e-Bangla Stadium,DhakaSri LankaSri Lanka won by 6 wicketsIndia2016IndiaEden Gardens,KolkataWest IndiesWest Indies won by 4 wicketsEngland The 2016 tournament that began on March 8, 2016, is the sixth edition of the ICC World Twenty20, the first to be hosted by India and the last to be hosted every two years, with the next edition scheduled to beheld in 2020. The winning team took away a prize money pool of 10 million dollars for the tournament, which is 33percent more than the 2014 edition. Interested in General Knowledge and Current Affairs? Click here to stay informed and know what is happening around the world with our G.K. and Current Affairs section.To get more updates on Current Affairs, send in your query by mail to [email protected]last_img read more

Read Full Article